Agust D (BTS) – Agust D (English Translation and Ramblings)

Agust D – Suga’s mixtape 2016, track 02.

I wasn’t really gonna do this since the Korean lyrics are fairly straight forward.  But I think the Eng subs on the MV actually confused more people (although 90% of it was still not too bad).

I assumed that people like Lynn Eksonyeondan would make a good lyrics video, but her font was kinda hard to read… and I have time now… so here’s my take on translating this song.  I must admit the large part of motivation is that I personally really love this song and listening to it on repeat while I do this just makes me happy.  ^^

Some adaptations were done.  But I guess I tend to be still a lot more literal with my translation than the official one (so may not flow as smoothly..)


Produced by Agust D

Keyboard Agust D
Synthesizer – Agust D
Gang Vocal – Rap Monster, j-hope, Pdogg, Agust D
Recording Engineer – Pdogg @ Dogg Bounce
Mix Engineer – Yang Ga @ Big Hit Studio
Mastering Engineer – Alex DeYoung @ DeYoung Masters

* Contain Sample : James Brown – It’s Man’s Man’s Man’s World

 

They call me new thang
The new recruit is here, take my luggage
Whole world, concert fairly well received Asiana Asia
You could be my new thang, different from the hyungs who are negligent in their duties
Insubordination of the famous celebrity,
Feel free to attack me bastards, but only if you think you’re strong enough.
The “insubordination” in Korean is literally, “lower climbing over higher”. The underground community has always looked “down” on the mainstream celebrity. The song is stating that the famous celebrity that was looked down upon will now look down at those underground haters.
This first part has military imagery unifying the various lines. The “new recruit” with their luggage + “negligent in their duties” was phrased using military specific term + “insubordination”.

Some say that I easily got to where I am now
Fuck you, I’m the thorn in the side of those hyungs that are so far from success
Honestly, I’m embarrassed about “Ssaihanuwar” – now we sell 500 000 albums a year
I’m of a different size, to be just contained in the K-pop category, whoo.
“Ssaihanuwar”…where he brags about selling 30 000 copies in 2013…

Yeah. If you want to surpass me, try booking first class
My seat is business. You’re economy, forever behind me and kissing my ass.
My next goal is Billboard
Brazil to New York. My passport with barely any time to rest.

A to the G to the U to the STD
I’m D boy because I’m from D
D =Daegu!
I’m an insane bastard, a lunatic on top of this beat
My tongue technology that causes orgasms with rap
I guess it’s not so weird that he uses “send to Hong Kong” = “orgasm” as metaphor for something very good. Even in English, people sometimes describe things (foods, music, etc) as orgasmically good.

A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
My tongue technology that causes orgasms
I find it funny that this line omits the “with rap”, from previous section… and does not specify what kind of orgasm he’s causing with his tongue ^^

I’m the bastard that take the bastards who copy those who copy and jump over them whether they’re senior or junior
The bastard that I was, whether I’m wack or fake, I’m the one who carves history on the ground
The above 2 lines were originally from “We Are Bulletproof. Pt. 1
And among rappers who are not even fun, I’m the one that makes more than others
Because I’m successful, the noise caused by jealousy of hyungs who are about to lose their income to me.
Hey ho, I don’t give a fuck. While you’re wasting your time
Literally, “while you’re shovelling the ground,” as metaphor for “wasting time.” Digging for no purpose is used as discipline in military.
Simply, I’ll bury you alive in the grave you dug yourself.
Continuation of the digging metaphor. Also, this is a fitting line, as you could say that some of the haters’ own inappropriate dissing/hate has damaged their own careers (ie. dug their own graves)
Hey ho. You guys can’t take me on
The numerous druggie rappers should be thankful that I’m an idol.
‘Cause I’m busy, I’m busy, 24/7. Rest? What rest.
Those who have already lost their chance, should play amongst yourselves.
The wailing of those who are only left with jealousy and childish behaviour,
They don’t know what’s important.
The Wailing is a Korean movie.  “Don’t know what’s important” is said in Jeolla Province dialect in this song and is a famous line from this movie.
Paris to New York, damn. My schedule with no time to rest.

A to the G to the U to the STD
I’m D boy because I’m from D

I’m an insane bastard, a lunatic on top of this beat
My tongue technology that causes orgasms with rap

A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
My tongue technology that causes orgasms

I’m Sorry. Honestly, I am.
I’m sorry that I’m the one that took your source of income, boy.
The literal phrase is, “I’m sorry that I’m the one who took your bowl of rice/food, boy.” The “bowl of rice/food” is a common phrase for income, kind of like “breadwinner” or “earning bread and butter” in English. However, the literal translation with the “boy” at the end makes this phrase sound like he’s talking to a dog.
I’m sorry. Try to avoid anger.
If you lose your health which is your sole possession, your mom will be sad.

I’m sorry. Change your career.
The way you waste your time is really remarkable. Change boy.
I’m sorry. Honestly, I am.
That your rapper is not as good as me.

A to the G to the U to the STD
I’m D boy because I’m from D
I’m an insane bastard, a lunatic on top of this beat
My tongue technology that causes orgasms with rap

A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
My tongue technology that causes orgasms

A to the G to the U to the STD
I’m D boy because I’m from D
I’m an insane bastard, a lunatic on top of this beat
My tongue technology that causes orgasms with rap

A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
A to the G to the U to the STD
My tongue technology that causes orgasms

 

 

One thought on “Agust D (BTS) – Agust D (English Translation and Ramblings)

  1. Oh, yasss
    Love this song too
    I guess this year Agust will be embarassed about “Agust D” xd (Honestly, I’m embarrassed about “Ssaihanuwar” – now we sell 500 000 albums a year)
    So this marching beat is here for a reason, as Yoongi uses military terms
    Thank you for the translation and explanations)

Leave a Reply

