RM (BTS) – MONSTER (English Translation + Ramblings)

MONSTER (track 04 of RM Mixtape)

Lyrics by Rap Monster

Original Track : J. Cole – Grown Simba

 

This is my personal favourite from the RM Mixtape, partially due to his voice and lyrics but also the original song by J. Cole is quite nice too.    I listen to it when I’m stressed (which is often. )

Again, this is him saying he will enjoy his music, regardless of how haters diss him.   Especially the haters that diss him because he doesn’t fit into the narrow definition of Hip-Hop that the haters have. He uses a mix of both male/female swear words here in a nice mix.  (bastards/bitches).  Let’s not have anyone mistaking this to be talking about a girl, just because he says “bitch.” ^^

 

 

(My notes are in brackets.  Some adaptation that explains the meaning, rather than literal translation was done.)


 

21 years old, my mom’s son all grown up
(20 years international age, at the time this Mixtape came out)
181 cm and 68 kg, limbs like a model.
( 5′ 11.5″ and 150 lbs for those who don’t use metric system.  This gives BMI of 21, which is a very healthy weight.  ^^)
Better brain then the dopey hyungs, and open heart
You’ll try to use various reasons to undermine me
But I’ll cry out now, I’m a Grown Simba
(reference to the J.Cole song, of course)
I live every day crazy busy, the calendar is always December.
You’ll know soon too – the symbol that’s worthy of the name
I’m still Rap Monster.  You quickly diss me.
Yes, from intro to outro
sweep up all your ears

Instead of the idiots who don’t understand even if I spoon-feed you,
Hyungs who know how things are, come gather around quick.
(Here he uses the word “멋/style” which can be seen as short for”무엇/thing/reality”.  The other interpretation of this line would be “Hyungs who know the styles, come gather around quick”)
Exploding RM emotions
Can’t explain, no matter how long the explanation
The things that whipped me on, when I was just being nice,
were those fucking bastards’ thoughtless talks
(Here he writes it as “18 bastards”.  18 in Korean, pronounced “ship pal” is often used instead of “shibal” which means “fucking”)
I live daily with my inner strength that doesn’t change with the change of seasons
I’m like the sneezes, and the other name is indigestion,
(From Korean belief that you get sick more easily when seasons change, and temperature is unpredictable.
Rhymes:
paegi – inner strength
jaechaegi – sneezes
chetgi – indigestion
check it)
So mufuckin  check it
Pathetic lives, why don’t you just do LOL, while I rap this.
(LOL – League of Legends that caused many gaming addicts..
“LOL” and “role”  and “roll” are written the same in Korean.
So could also mean:
 “Why don’t you do the role of pathetic lives, while I rap this.”
“Pathetic lives, why don’t you roll around, while I rap this.”
)


Left side (c’mon!)
Right side (c’mon!)
If you can feel this rhythm, come this way (c’mon!)
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
Left side (c’mon!)
Right side (c’mon!)
If you can feel this rhythm, come this way (c’mon!)
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster


This life I livin, i live life I livin
You live, they leavin i spit right im heaven
Sick of your gimic so get right you bitches
I conquer your arrogant pride, the Kirin/giraffe outside the house.
(this line has so many layers, it’ll take a bit of explaining.  The original line is:  콧대 높은 널 따먹어, 집 밖의 기린
The arrogant person is described as having his nose up high – similar to English expression of looking down his nose at someone.
The verb “conquer” I used, if translated literally, would be to “pick off and eat” like a fruit off a tree.  It is often used as a metaphor for having sexual conquests.
The second part talks about Kirin/Girin. These two things are written the same in Korean.  Girin is a giraffe (thus, also goes along with having nose up high.)  Kirin is a mythical creature, that often is made into a statue to put outside of a home.    Kirin often also has a large/tall nose, and is supposed to be full of pride, esepcially in the version in The Twelve Kingdoms novel/anime)
If i make noise, even all the men stand up straight.
(“stand up straight” and “dicks get erection” sound very similar.  “gotchusuh” vs “gochusuh”
–>”If I make noise, even all the men get erections.”)
I’ll take on my own debt, and I’ll be my own guarantor
When you play LOL, you know i play roles
(again, the League of Legends)
Rapper, composer, a star so lay low (I fuck you up)
Just like KakaoTalk to your one-sided crush, the problem is looming bigger.
(or “Just like your one-sided crush, the 1’s are looming bigger.”
“il” = 1, problem/issue, work
I haven’t used KakaoTalk before.  But from what I understand is that if you send a message, there is a “1” next to it, which goes away if the recipient reads it.  Obviously, if you send a message to your crush and she is ignoring your number, this “1” will loom larger the longer you have to wait”)
You’ll end up totally wet, so make sure to bring your underwear.
I walked diligently down my path for 7 years, and now the doors are opening
Diss me now while you have the chance, you useless jerk who only worry about others’ lives.
Oh shit.. that was childish
Don’t worry, I live a fucking good life
Singapore today and Taiwan tomorrow, bitch
I’m so busy poppin’ tags, you so busy shoutin’ nags bitch


Left side (c’mon!)
Right side (c’mon!)
If you can feel this rhythm, come this way (c’mon!)
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
Left side (c’mon!)
Right side (c’mon!)
If you can feel this rhythm, come this way (c’mon!)
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster


Turn any emotions into lyrics, I’m an alchemist, bitch
The bastards who are poor in their hearts glue their mouth with gruel.
So they can’t talk any more.  Why do they smack talk again?
They say that dissing me and ripping into me is so fun.
(Lots of food related metaphors here.
Long time ago, when Korea was poor, people used to make dilute gruel to eat by boiling water mixed with flour.  This is also recipe for glue – commonly made to put up wallpapers.
Thus, the saying in Korea “입에 풀칠하다” – glue your mouth – means being so poor that you’re barely surviving on this gruel.
“Dissing” in Korean is literally written as “to chew” on someone –> also another food related metaphor.
Now, RM is saying these haters are so poor that they eat the gruel, which then glue their mouth shut.  But they keep smack talking.  Because they want to chew on RM.
Just for interests’ sake, if you watch the BTS Freestyle Diss Battle, this is extra funny because V says he’s “chewing” while he is chewing on food, but that can also be taken as he is “dissing.”)
Low life bitch, keep comforting yourself like that
(comforting yourself  – he used the term that’s also used for masturbation)
Yes.  “Hip-Hop, Hip-Hop~”,.  What else can you do?  I guess that’s all you have.
Bastards like the roads during Chuseuk, my rap ain’t for you.
My music ain’t for everybody, especially not for you
(Chuseuk is the Korean Thanksgiving when everyone goes to visit their family, when the traffic jam is at its worst.  Essentially, saying that the bastards are all blocked up in their minds, not open-minded)

 

 

Left side (c’mon!)
Right side (c’mon!)
The bastards that can’t feel this, go that way (fuck up)
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
Left side (c’mon!)
Right side (c’mon!)
The bastards that can’t feel this, go that way (fuck up)
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster

Left side
Right side
If you can feel this rhythm, come this way
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
Left side
Right side
If you can feel this rhythm, come this way
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster
R to the M I’m a mu-fuckin monster


 

This song wasn’t too difficult on the first go.  I’ll probably find more meanings the more I stare at it, but this was fun to translate.


Some more edits done.

I remember when I was first starting to sub (it was mostly Suju stuff) and I translated “ddong” as “shit” instead of “poop”.  There was a bunch of comments like, “OMG!  Eunhyuk wouldn’t say shit!  That’s a swear word!”

While I do not think more swear words = more badass, I am glad that BTS has as much flexibility/freedom with this as they do.  Presumably, it’s because they originated from a Hip Hop group/belongs to a small agency.

It’s also lovely how Suga is one of the shortest/least muscular/quietest/doesn’t like alcohol/doesn’t like tattoos, etc.  and can still be the most badass member of the group.  They seem comfortable being themselves in their nerd/badass spectrum, without having to conform to pristine idol image or trying to be too gangster.

 

Leave a Reply

