4. Subbing using Advanced SubStation Alpha (part 2: fonts)

Fonts and colours that are reasonably good….

The font colours for the PrimaryColour fields are:

A:H00333300
B:H00990066
C:H00006666
D:H00336600
E:H00FF0033
F:H000066CC
G:H00660099
H:H009900CC

With SecondaryColour, OutlineColour, BackColour all being  H00FFFFCC  ->  I’m not sure why these colours automatically seem to change colour a bit depending on the primary colour.

for the above texts, the font name was Serifa BT, Outline was 3 and Shadow was 0.   

For example: 

Style: Default,Serifa BT,22,&H00990066,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,-1,0,0,0,100,100,0,0.00,1,3,0,2,20,20,20,1

Thank you Susu for the following information.  ^___^

because of the colours, I experimented a bit and I found out, there’s a way to define them. I don’t have any idea what ‘H00′ is though, but ‘HFF’ made my subs invisible, transparent. so I think it’s kind of transparency? however, you know in html colors are always RGB (or however to say this >>) two numbers red, two numbers green, two numbers blue. this time it’s turned around. like H00BBGGRR.
thus
H00FF0000 -> blue
H0000FF00 -> green
H000000FF -> red

(you see, quite a simple experiment ^^; )

so if you go to photoshop or what, choose your color and you RGB is #33cc66 (a beautiful(?) green.) the you type in your subs H0066cc33 ^^

7 thoughts on “4. Subbing using Advanced SubStation Alpha (part 2: fonts)

  1. Hi, I’m looking at your subtitle demonstration. I was wondering it’s possible to control the shadow and outline for specific lines, instead of every single one.

  2. muish you rock!! XD
    thank you for these gorjus tutorials. you gave very clear explanations. i tried it yesterday for the first time. i’ve done a short-vid-subbing and it was pretty good.

    thank you soo much *hugz*

    xoxo
    chivie

  3. @ Susu.

    Ahh!! Thank you so much!! ^____^ That really helps. I’m learning by trial and error…so that’s really helpful. I hope you don’t mind if I copy and paste your information… Tell me if you do mind~ ^^

    -muish

  4. thanks a lot for your great tutorials, they really help me a lot :’D

    because of the colours, I experimented a bit and I found out, there’s a way to define them. I don’t have any idea what ‘H00’ is though, but ‘HFF’ made my subs invisible, transparent. so I think it’s kind of transparency? however, you know in html colors are always RGB (or however to say this >>) two numbers red, two numbers green, two numbers blue. this time it’s turned around. like H00BBGGRR.
    thus
    H00FF0000 -> blue
    H0000FF00 -> green
    H000000FF -> red

    (you see, quite a simple experiment ^^; )

    so if you go to photoshop or what, choose your color and you RGB is #33cc66 (a beautiful(?) green.) the you type in your subs H0066cc33 ^^

    hope I could help ^^;

Leave a Reply

