3. Subbing using Advanced SubStation Alpha (Part 1)

 

This is much nicer.  You can have different fonts and font colours.   You can save without timing and won’t lose your work!!  ^___^

People say it’s kinda a bulky format but I really like it.  ^^

1.  The first part of subbing is pretty much the same as subbing with SubRip format.

2.  Save as:  File->Save As->Advanced SubStation Alpha (.ass)

3:  Marking the lines…

With Subtitle Workshop, you can’t change the fonts.  So if I need three different types of fonts/colors, I’ll just put a little sign on it so I can find those lines later when I go to edit with wordpad.

For example,   in picture A:

All the regular dialogue, I sub as per usual.  All the captions, I know I can later find with search function because they have [square brackets] around them.  All the offscreen dialogue, I put a little ^ before each line, so that I can find them easily later.

4.  After making the basic softsub file and saving it as .ass file in Subtitle workshop, the subtitles will look like picture B.

5.  Changing the fonts…

Open the softsub in wordpad.  It’ll look like something like this….

_________________________

[Script Info]
ScriptType: v4.00+
Collisions: Normal
PlayResX: 384
PlayResY: 288
Timer: 100.0000

[V4+ Styles]
Format: Name, Fontname, Fontsize, PrimaryColour, SecondaryColour, OutlineColour, BackColour, Bold, Italic, Underline, StrikeOut, ScaleX, ScaleY, Spacing, Angle, BorderStyle, Outline, Shadow, Alignment, MarginL, MarginR, MarginV, Encoding
Style: Default,Tahoma,24,&H00FFFFFF,&H00FFFFFF,&H00FFFFFF,&H00C0C0C0,-1,0,0,0,100,100,0,0.00,1,2,3,2,20,20,20,1

[Events]
Format: Layer, Start, End, Style, Actor, MarginL, MarginR, MarginV, Effect, Text
Dialogue: 0,0:00:00.00,0:00:05.36,Default,,0000,0000,0000,,*subbed by muish* whatever dialogue you put in, etc….

_________________________

Format lists the field names.  Style lists the values in that field.   For example, Name=Default, Fontname=Tamoha, Fontsize=24, etc.  More on the exact font colours and names later.

You can have many lines of Styles for different font styles you’re gonna use.  And change the font name and size and things.. colours and thickness of outline and stuff.

For example, I found all the  offscreen dialogue, deleted the little ^ marker and changed the Name fields from Default to offscreen.  Also, I searched for all the [ and changed the Name fields from Default to caption…. so that the font would look more like the picture C.

___________________________

Format: Name, Fontname, Fontsize, PrimaryColour, SecondaryColour, OutlineColour, BackColour, Bold, Italic, Underline, StrikeOut, ScaleX, ScaleY, Spacing, Angle, BorderStyle, Outline, Shadow, Alignment, MarginL, MarginR, MarginV, Encoding
Style: Default,Serifa BT,22,&H00333300,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,-1,0,0,0,100,100,0,0.00,1,3,0,2,20,20,20,1
Style: caption,Serifa BT,22,&H00990066,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,-1,0,0,0,100,100,0,0.00,1,3,0,2,20,20,20,1
Style: offscreen,Serifa BT,22,&H00006666,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,&H00FFFFCC,-1,0,0,0,100,100,0,0.00,1,3,0,2,20,20,20,1
[Events]
Format: Layer, Start, End, Style, Actor, MarginL, MarginR, MarginV, Effect, Text
Dialogue: 0,0:07:21.45,0:07:22.66,Default,,0000,0000,0000,,Bye!
Dialogue: 0,0:07:26.26,0:07:29.09,offscreen,,0000,0000,0000,,Crown J doesn’t seem to want to leave!
Dialogue: 0,0:09:49.61,0:09:50.69,caption,,0000,0000,0000,,[What?]
___________________________

 

6.  Having two lines of different colour on one screen (like in picture D)

For example:

_________________________

Dialogue: 0,0:15:44.69,0:15:48.63,Default,,0000,0000,0000,,My mom’s really a fan..
Dialogue: 0,0:15:44.69,0:15:48.63,offscreen,,0000,0000,0000,,Why didn’t you contact me?

_________________________

Note that they have overlapping/same timeline.  Also, the earlier line in the sub seems to show up with the later line showing up above it.   That is, the top line in the sub is actually the bottom line on the screen.

8 thoughts on “3. Subbing using Advanced SubStation Alpha (Part 1)

  1. Sorry to intrude, but I’m triyng to color my subs, without results. I’ve changed the font, the size and set the colours. I’ve saved the .ass file from wordpad and I tried to watch the movie with the “new” subs, but the colour hasn’t changed. I don’t know why, can you please help me finding where I did wrong? Sorry again, but it’s my first time subbing and I’d really like to thank you for this tutorial, it helped a lot!

    1. is it still soft-subbed..?
      if it is, i think u still need to change
      d subtitle source on ur video decoder
      from the .srt to .ass …

      hope it helps…

      1. I did. If I use Aegisub to modify the styles I can see the changes, but if I open the media player I always use to play my soft subs (in my case it’s KMedia Player) then I see blank subs as if I’ve never modified anything. I don’t care, as long as I can see the changes in Aegisub, but I don’t know if it will work with the hard-sub as well. Anyway, I’ll figure it out somehow.

  2. hi muish,

    thanks for this tutorial…
    it really helped me a lot..

    anyway, i was just wonderin if u know how to put d subs on top of d video…
    i was trying to figure it out.. but still can’t..

    thanks in advance^^
    more power~

  3. Dear Muish,

    Could you let me know which software can I use to sub asychronous subs. I mean some times the dialogues and orignial subs dont come in an fade out in the same time

  4. Hi Muish,
    Can you tell me how do you get the advanced substation alpha? I only have substation alpha in subtitle workshop. Do you need a different program to do it? or can you still use subtitle workshop?

    Thanks.

  5. I am really sorry (if) this is a stupid question.
    Okay!So I made all these and now..how do I put my subs on my video? I mean,i made my Advanced SubStation Alpha (.ass) with SubRip and now I dunno how to put that in my video.
    Oh Muish, please be patience and answer my question!Thank you very much!!

Leave a Reply

