1. Programs I use to sub (How to sub part 1)

I actually have no training in this kinda thing and everything I learned, I googled how to whenever I got stuck.  So it’s probably not the best way out there…but just the way I ended up doing things.  ^^

 

Other than the codecs mentioned in how to view softsubs, I use the following programs.

I use Subtitle Workshop to softsub.  This is a free program and very simple and easy to use.  It’s great if you’re doing subbing simple things.  Not as good if you’re doing something more complicated…

When I’m subbing something more complicated, with different font colours and stuff, I’ll usually edit things a bit manually in Wordpad or Microsoft Word. 

Then I use Virtual Dub to hardsub/encode.   Also a free program and simple and doesn’t take up a lot of space.   It is a bit of a limited program, mostly because it’s so simple.  More on that later…

I also use Total Video Converter to change video formats.  Mostly because Virtual Dub is incompatible with certain video formats.  Also, some videos come in wrong aspect ration and it’s possible to change that with the Total Video Converter.  Unfortunately, this is not a free program; it’s about 40-50 bucks, I believe.  However, subbing is a really time-consuming process and if paying a bit of money saves you hours and hours of headache, I’d say it’s definitely worthwhile.

 

For the really really newbies….  Some definitions.  ^^

Softsub:  The text file which stores the subtitles data.  Can usually turn the subtitle on or off at will with this.

Hardsub/encode:  Embedding the softsub onto a video file so that it’s merged with the video file… so you only have to play the video file to play both the video and the subtitles.   You cannot turn the subtitle off when it’s hardsubbed.

6 thoughts on “1. Programs I use to sub (How to sub part 1)

  1. This post is very useful. Thank you^^
    I’m a newbie and I think subtitle workshop is time consuming too, so i just use notepad. :)

  2. I’m trying out subing with Aegisubs.
    I’m wondering if you have any experience with that. If there is any reason you’re using Subtitle Workshop instead.

    Always coming back here to look at tips.
    Thanks so much!
    ~ 舞

Leave a Reply

